Thursday, February 19, 2009

New St. Vincent Album Announced

Great news for fans of St. Vincent.
"On May 4th (5th in the US), 4AD will release Actor, the anticipated new album by St. Vincent (née Annie Clark), and the follow-up to her first album Marry Me, one of the most acclaimed debuts of 2007. Actor was co-produced by Clark and John Congleton (Modest Mouse, Polyphonic Spree) and features eleven new songs, all written and arranged by Clark.

takes the ambitious compositional and sonic underpinnings of Clark's debut as a starting point and never looks back. The arrangements are more masterful, the songwriting grander, the performances ever more confident and inspired.

Speaking for the first time about Actor, Annie Clark commented, "I wanted to make these songs technicolour animatronic rides."
Here is the track list from the new album:

1. The Strangers
2. Save Me From What I Want
3. Neighbours
4. Actor Out Of Work
5. Black Rainbow
6. Laughing With A Mouth Of Blood
7. Marrow
8. The Bed
9. The Party
10. Just The Same But Brand New
11. The Sequel